Swollen feet and hands

So I’ve started to notice my feet and hands swelling.  Unfortunately, I didn’t act on it soon enough.  My wedding ring will not come off.  I guess I should’ve thought about taking it off sooner, but it really didn’t cross my mind until a few days ago.  This morning I tried using liquid soap and twisting if off.  No luck.  Then I tried soaking my hand in ice water to relieve some of the swelling.  I also tried butter.  Nothing worked. 

I googled it and found a message board that had some good suggestions.  Today I will drink lots of water, decrease my sodium intake, and tonight Doug will try helping me get it off.  We’re going to try Windex (suggested by other pregnant moms online), olive oil, and anything else we can think of. 

It was probably my hormones and the fact that my finger was even more swollen after trying multiple times to get it off, but this morning I was on the verge of crying thinking that my wedding ring may have to be cut off.  I know it’s just a piece of jewelry.  Doug and our marriage is what matters, but I love my ring.  It’s beautiful, and it means so much to me.

I called the jewelry store that it was bought from and explained the situation.  Come to find out, they can cut it off for free and reattach it for a fee.  I described the ring and asked for a ballpark figure.  Since the band is platinum, it would cost about $105 to reattach it.  Ugh.  I would hate for it to come to that, but I have a feeling that’s where we’re going to end up.  It’s a little expensive, but it’s worth saving my ring.

Doug just came home for lunch, looked at my finger, and told me that he is apprehensive it will come off.  Deep down I know he’s probably right, but I want us to try everything we can before having it cut off.  My advice to any future pregnant women:  Take off your wedding ring before you hit your second trimester.  Better early than too late.

2 Comments »

  1. Doug Said:

    try making a really tight fist, maybe it’ll just break off.

  2. larissa Said:

    doug is funny. that looks painful. i’m sorry, sweetie. 😦


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment